To top
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someone

A love note for your husband goes to your boss, an inappropriate link for your best friend goes to your students. Drunk ramblings, problematic typos, a dreaded accidental click of “Replay all,” the list of email mistakes is endless. But Google has finally introduced the feature to save the masses from mass embarrassment: ‘undo send’ is finally here.

Originally an experimental feature of Gmail’s ‘labs,’ Google has introduced the ‘undo send’ feature for general users after six years. You can now snatch a premature email back from the ether with a simple click.

But you’ll have to manually enable the feature. In Gmail’s settings menu, you can set a “cancellation period” of 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds after sending any email to call it back.

“‘Undo Send’ allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings,” explained Google in a blog post.

Mobile users, however, will have to download Gmail’s “Inbox” app to get access to the ‘undo send’ feature. It’s an extra step, but for those prone to finger slips, it’ll be worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

We are on Instagram